Why do ‘they’ do ‘it’ ?

The reason you haven’t felt it is because it doesn’t exist. What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons. You’re born alone and you die alone and this world just drops a bunch of rules on top of you to make you forget those facts. But I never forget. I’m living like there’s no tomorrow, because there isn’t one. – Don Draper, Mad Men

Wikileaks : The most trending topic for the past two weeks. The global freedom of the press movement got a new hero and the Jason Bourne types a new target.  Julian Assange the face of wikileaks is the latest in a growing breed of tech savvy meets news reporting. Did the founders of the Internets ever envision what great a role their idea of hooking up computers around the world would play in determining the course of human history.

A Declaration of the Independence of Cyberspace by John Perry Barlow

Arre Diwano, Mujeh Pehechano,
Kahan Se Aaya, Mein Hoon Kaun,
Mein Hoon Kaun, Mein Hoon Kaun,

What motivates people like JA or VK or many others to put themselves out there; trying to drive sense into the sheep. No one takes them seriously and calls them quacks/narcs/control freaks/ crackheads. Are people afraid that any acceptance of the real truth will break the tightly drawn veil of disbelief. All is not well with the world people. It never was.  We’ve known this all along. But some refuse to go to bed at nights because they care about the world and the people that inhabit it.

Saint Anger ’round my neck
He never gets respect
Fuck it all and no regrets,
I hit the lights on these dark sets.
I need a voice to let myself
To let myself go free.

Then there the other types of people; the non vigilante types who in equal measure do their bit for the world to make it a better place.  Like Narayanan Krishnan. See how his eyes light up and the pumping enthusiasm in his voice as he describes what he does. Selfless.

Narayanan Krishnan was a bright, young, award-winning chef with a five-star hotel group, short-listed for an elite job in Switzerland. But a quick family visit home before heading to Europe changed everything.

“I saw a very old man eating his own human waste for food,” Krishnan said. “It really hurt me so much. I was literally shocked for a second. After that, I started feeding that man and decided this is what I should do the rest of my lifetime.”  (Narayanan Krishnan’s CNN Heroes Profile)

Narayanan Krishnan– A CNN Hero

So the most important questions you have to ask yourself today are “ What is my purpose in life ? How did my being on this earth make it a better place ? What is ‘my word’ ? ”

There will always be books to read, movies to watch, songs to listen to, places to see, people to meet, errands to run, taxes to be paid and money to be made. There’s no escaping that. But besides all these activities that slot as normal human beings do something small or big that will make this world a better place to live in for now and for tomorrow.  Sharing is caring (but don’t share copyrighted content on torrents)

We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop. ~ Mother Teresa

Peace. May the force be with you.

One thought on “Why do ‘they’ do ‘it’ ?

Comments are closed.