#buyitforlife

I bought this ‘sleek’ beauty on November 23,2007 with money saved up from working as a photographer’s technical assistant. Already four months into my stay in the US of A I had resisted buying a laptop due to the mental gimmicks of $700 to INR??  I would rather spend extra hours in the computer lab at Uni slogging away on assignments than buy a laptop.

lenovo-y410

But the it’s #blackfridaysalebro flyer on tigerdirect.com enticed me with :

Super light and extra powerful, the Lenovo 3000 Y410 notebook PC offers top performance at home, on the road, and in the office. This 5.2-pound notebook PC features a 1.5GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor, integrated Intel graphics, a 160GB 5400RPM SATA HDD, 2GB of PC2-5300 memory, and a dual layer optical drive.

The Lenovo 3000 Y410 notebook PC – it’s fast, portable, and loaded with special features that make it a great choice for multimedia applications. If you’re looking for cutting-edge capabilities, an integrated web cam, Dolby Home Theater premium audio, a Shuttle Center for one-stop, total entertainment, and a 6-in-1 media card – you’ve found it with the Lenovo 3000 Y410 notebook PC.

I was hook, line and sinker.

I paid extra for an expedited delivery !! But the UPS Delivery Truck’s axle broke en-route and I received my laptop two weeks late and no refund for the failed promise of expedited delivery.

I have had a love – hate – denial – acceptance -frustration – love – hate – fucking hate – acceptance – divorce – Zen, relationships with this laptop since.

I have never had so many relationships with real people.

I have lost count of the instances where the missus has remarked

” you love your laptop more than me”

“go spoon with your laptop”

“take your laptop with you to your grave”

” I’m sure you’ve listed your laptop also, as a dependent in your life insurance policy”

” I can understand why you love that scene from Harold and Kumar go to white castle where
Kumar has Sex with a bag of weed.”

Bah,Humbug!

Has the Y410 been my only squeeze for so long ? Heck no. There have been many since 2007 with their faster processors, big ram chips, sleek design, lighter weights, blazing startup times but I keep returning to the Y410. It’s like the Maruthi 800DX my family refuses to sell because it still runs.

I’ve made improvements over the years trying to prolong the life of this geriatric beast. First came the bigger and max supported RAM of 4 GB in 2008. Then the onetime upgrade from Vista to Windows 7 in 2009. Then a fan in 2010. Then some thermal paste in 2011. Then a new keyboard 2012. Ubuntu/Mint did some airbnb business on the hdd in 2013. Then a SSD and with win 7 in 2014 and most recently  a new battery in 2015.

Reminds me of that scene in 30 Rock where Jack Donaghy says to Liz Lemon,

I like you. You have the boldness of a much younger woman.

Has the laptop failed me ? Multiple times. Again and again.

Have I thrown the laptop away to never wanting to look at it again because it kept shutting down whimsically? Yes.

Have I prayed to Satyanarayana Swami to revive my laptop while it was on life support? Yes.

Have I read the entire Harry Potter series in e-book form on this laptop? Yes.

Have I typed out blazzzing fast responses to gchat windows – with my maybe wife during our courtship – on the Y410’s amazing keyboard?  Yes.

Does the laptop’s fan spin wild and loud like chopper blades? You betcha.

Have I included the Y410 along with my textbooks during Sarawasti Puja?  Yes.

Will the laptop fail me again by shutting down whimsically? Absofuckinglutely.

I feel a  certain joy in using old tech even when it is painful. I am a masochist.

Proudly typing this on the amazing keyboard of the Y410.

Further reading : In 2011, artist Kyle McDonald launched a quest to capture expressionless faces, the kind people adopt while staring at a computer screen.He installed a program on public computers at a New York Apple Store, capturing still images of customers looking at the products.

In mid-May, 2011, I took a timelapse using my laptop’s webcam to get a feeling for how I looked at the computer. After a few days of recording, I watched the video. I was completely stunned. There was no expression on my face. Even though I spend most of my day talking to and collaborating with other people online, from my face you can see no trace of this.

McDonald has recounted the full story of People Staring at Computers at Wired; it’s well worth it to read the whole thing. > http://www.wired.com/2012/07/people-staring-at-computers/all/

~

 

hey there fella,

